2nd Annual Ki kiikidowininaand Maamawi’opiwin:
Indigenous Languages Symposium

Date: March 24 & 25, 2021
Location: VIRTUAL


The purpose of Manitoba Aboriginal Languages Strategy, MALS, is to promote, revitalize, and retain the Aboriginal Languages in Manitoba based on ancestral knowledges of our Grandparents. Understanding the connectedness of generations and the importance of Aboriginal languages teach us who we are as a people. Language ensures a strong connection from the past to the present in a positive way. Our land is where our language is learned and we as Aboriginal people need to learn beyond the walls of a classroom.

The 2nd Annual Indigenous Languages Symposium will honour Grandparents knowledge and Experiences, language program models, strategies, and resources representative to the seven language groups in Manitoba. Come share the importance of language retention, revitalization, and promotion. 

Keynote speakers and individual workshop sessions may include, but are not limited to:

  • Aboriginal Writing Systems 
  • Grandparents and our languages
  • Aboriginal language immersion programming
  • Teaching Aboriginal languages
  • Community based Aboriginal languages programs
  • Language and the land
  • Language program models
  • Resources
  • Stories, songs, and teachings


Register Now

2021 Tentative Program (adobe pdf225 KB)

Workshop Abstract Submission Form

Save the Date (adobe pdf73 KB)

2020 Symposium Program (adobe pdf131 KB)


Kelly Forgala, Event Manager
P: 204 391 4419

McNally Robinson Booksellers
is pleased to present the launch of five new books from Goldrock Press– March 31, 2020

Goldrock Press Group Launch Event Invitation
Event Invitation (adobe pdf 201 KB)

McNally Robinson Booksellers
Tuesday, March 31 at 7:00 p.m. in the atrium

Join us for the launch of five new books from Goldrock Press three new language books, a devotional journal, and a book on counseling Indigenous Peoples. This event presented with support from the Manitoba Arts Council.

Goldrock Press Group Launch Event Invitation (adobe pdf201 KB)